Greece Invites 29 Countries to Unite Travel Bubbles

Greece Invites 29 Countries to Unite Travel Bubbles


Athens: The Greek government has just listed 29 countries from where it will look to unify travel bubbles and accept overseas airline visitors. This, as of June 15 is hoped to be the plan needed to mitigate the financial damage from the travel pandemic. Why? Tourism and related industries make up around 20 per cent of the Greek economy, and the government has been anxious to ensure the tourist season is not lost this year.

The Tourism Ministry said travellers from the permitted countries will be able to enter Greece on direct flights to Athens and to the northern city of Thessaloniki. The list will be expanded on July 1 to include other countries, the ministry said. "Our aim is to be able to welcome every tourist who has overcome their fear and has the ability to travel to our country," Tourism Minister Harry Theoharis said on Antenna television.

What are the Travel Bubble 29?
The 29 countries are: Albania, Australia, Austria, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, New Zealand, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, South Korea, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Finland.

In closing, and with some questioning the actual dedication to a unified Travel Bubble, the ministry said: Visitors arriving from those countries could be subject to sample coronavirus testing. While Australians might be welcome in Greece in just a couple of weeks, only time will tell if this is the sort of warm welcome travellers will be expecting in considering to travel to beautiful Greece.

Link to Source Article

Subscribe to our Worldwide Airline News

Join our online community and receive timely news from around the world. Everything airline - everything food. We'll also let you know of any updates to our website and apps. Join Aeroplate.